Make your own free website on


5 Pillars

*The Five Pillars of Islam*

Close-up, columns at bank building

  • All Muslims must accept 5 duties. These duties are known as the 5 Pillars of Islam.
  • The First Pillar is Shahada. It is the declaration of faith for Muslims. "There is no God but God and Muhammad is his Prophet." This Pillar also means Muslims must not put anything before God, No Matter what it is. (Power, Money, etc..)  
  • The Second Pillar is Salat. It is Daily prayer for Muslims. It states that a Muslim must pray five times a day. They also have to say five different prayers. While they pray, they must face Mecca. Mecca is the city that Muhammad was born in. They Must pray at dawn, noon, mid afternoon, sunset, and nightfall.
  • The Third Pillar is Zakat. Zakat is giving charity to the poor and less fortunate. Giving charity is NOT only giving money. It may be giving someone a meal, or clothes if they need it. Upper class muslims must give 2.5% to the poor. This is Considered a Tithe. A Tithe is a church tax.
  • The Fourth Pillar is Sawn, Sawn is Fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. It is the ninth month on the muslim calendar. Muslims must fast from sun up to sun down. All pleasures are Sacrificed for a month. A muslim giving up something for a month is like a Christian or Catholic giving up something for Lent. The month of Ramadan is a period of spiritual purification, and medation for a Muslim. During this holy month, Muslims feast at night. But they have to resume their normal daily lives during the day.
  • The Fifth Pillar is the Hajj. The Hajj is a religous journey (or pilgrimage) to Mecca. The pilgrimage re-traces the steps of Muhammad from the holy city of Medina to Mecca. The Hajj must be performed once in a Muslims life-time. It occurs in the 12th month of the Islamic calendar. Once they get to Mecca, Muslims circle the sacred Kabba 7 times just like Muhammad did on his way to Mecca.


Kabba: Kabba is the Islamic word for Cube.

Home | Islamic Culture | Myths and Misconceptions Of Islam | History of the Faith | Quran and Sharia | 5 Pillars

Enter supporting content here